Please approve of my proposed set-up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JonnyKhan

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This is my first attempt at an aquarium in 5-6 years and only the second attempt at a marine aquarium. The first attempt ended in disaster; so this time I'm determined to do things right. I have most of the stuff ready, but I want someone with experience to approve it before I set things up.

I have a 55g tank on a purpose built stand, with regular fluorescent (cheap but high spectrum tubes) lights. I'm using an undergravel filter with two powerheads, and a Fluval 350 canister filter. Also, two submersible heaters.

I'm using a mixture of aragonite (?), regular crushed coral, and a some very fine crushed coral. I have about a dozen pieces of once live rock (base rock, I guess) and several coral skeletons. I also have two fairly large pieces of plain white faux coral. My intention is to create a mixed landscape of rocky, somewhat reef like areas on the sides and an emptier space in the middle with a few coral skeletons and finer substrate.

I'm planning a community tank, but not sure yet what I'll want.

I have a few questions:

1.) I could have a protein skimmer and a bio-wheel filter; the first came with the tank, the second is left over from a previous tank. Should I use one or both of these in addition to the fluval/undergravel?

2) Live Rock: do I need it? Can I use it? Will the use of an undergravel filter preclude converting to live rock in the future?

3)Cycling: How fast (or slowly) will this take place(given the system I'm using)? Do I need a fish or fishes to start the cycle? Are there any products that will let me cheat and shave off some time?

4) I'm not planning a reef, but can higher order invertebrates be kept with fish in a fish only tank. I am specifically thinking of the shrimp that "go with" shrimp gobies.