Suggestions for this BIG problem?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nyghtone

Aquarium Advice Freak
:?:
First of all, howdy all. I have been visiting this forum for quite some time, but I've not really posted much or made myself known. Although I have gained HUGE amounts of experience and first hand knowledge by checking out all of your posts.

I am a college student in my senior year at MSU-Billings studying MIS, so go computer geeks, haha. But my problem is my fish tank. I converted to saltwater about six months ago, and being the smart college type I dove right in without the proper amount of research, haha. I set my 75 gallon up with a powerhead sucking water from the top of the tank and sending it to a 20 gallon sump. Then a fluval 303 sends it back to the tank, and I have a blue devil damsel(I think, it hinds, havent' actually seen it in over a month), a yellow tang, and two false clowns. I've added a little over 20 pounds of fiji and my lighting is one standard 38 watt NO that came with the tank for a freshwater setup, and a 28 watt coralife PC 20" that I have on just the right side with the LV.

In my sump I have a seaclone 100 skimmer, and after a LOT of experimenting it seems to be working great, my levels are PH 8.2, Amonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrate 3-5, and I'm not too concerned about calcium and what not yet as for now it's just a FOWLR setup. Now my problem, the tank started out being very clear, but over the last two months has started to turn green, until now I can barely see the LR!!! Any suggestions on why this might be happening when I have flow in my tank of around 500 gph and very low nitrates???
FishTank.jpg

tank flow should be at 750 gallons...10 times per hour turnover...up to 20 times turnover (or 1500gph if you suck at math like I do)