Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-31-2015, 02:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
Sump

Any opinions on this sump for a 4ft saltwater FOWLR. Its for sale locally. Ive never had one and dont know a lot about them.



Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 02:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
This is it.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1433049776912.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	273002  
__________________

__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 08:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
it's fine to use except it will do nothing to lower nitrates. This is a sump built for a fish only tank. The bio balls and drip tray above it will house a large amount of aerobic bacteria, which will do a very good job at converting ammonia to nitrite, to nitrate. It will be up to you to remove the nitrate with whatever means you choose.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 10:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
Thanks.. what type would you recommend

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 10:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 157
It is possible to control nitrates with a few PWC'S a week maybe like 20%

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Saekalive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 11:00 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashley73 View Post
Thanks.. what type would you recommend

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
It depends on what you want to achieve. Will this be a fish only tank or FOWLR? If so, this sump will work fine.
You can also take this sump and remove the bio balls and add some rock to that area instead. Live rock completes the nitrogen cycle.If so, I would replace the last partition with a taller one, to raise the water level a bit more. If this is fairly cheap, then that might be a good option.
If not, You could just make your own pretty easily out of a standard glass tank with some partitions glued in.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 02:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 584
That'll work. Take that middle thing out and throw in Chaeto and a light, it will help, but its not quite big enough to handle a large tank.
You can control Nitrates doing weekly water changes, easily enough.
You can control Nitrates doing no water changes and Carbon Dosing, AKA- Vodka, Vinegar, Sugar Dosing.
__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 08:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Carbon dosing still needs you to remove nutrients. You'll need to still do water changes and have very effective components for nutrient removal, like a very effective skimmer. I would not suggest this method for someone new to the hobby.
You can't control nitrates in every tank with water changes. You could be doing hundreds of gallons a week, depending on what nutrients you are putting in and your bio load. There's a lot more to it than just guessing at what a 4' tank needs. It may not be cost effective and worth the labor. For a beginner (or even myself), I suggest fortifying the tank with lots of rock and the most effective nutrient removal methods.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 11:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
What are the most effective nutrient removal methods in your opinion?

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 12:12 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
i'd say the number one method for removing nutrients is a good solid skimmer. thats the first step to getting some organic material removed with out a water change. I'm still a believer in large water changes on top of the skimmer. Alot will depend on feeding and stocking though. A tank full of big fish and no matter how many water changes you do I betcha would still have nitrate issues. Just my two cents, I'm sure Mr. X can more eloquently explain.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 12:52 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 584
Effective, a skimmer thats rated well over your total water volume, say rated at or better than twice your volume.
Algae Turf Scrubber. If this is large enough, you don't need a skimmer.
Bottom line skimmer, and Vodka Dosing. I use a CoralifeSuper Skimmer 220, on my 240g tank, way under rated, but it works well enough for carbon dosing. Most who don't carbon dose, and just go off of what they read, have trouble understanding how well, and how easy it is to use. And how none complecated it is to you. Its not as dangerous as everyone makes it out to be also, it takes quite a bit more than anyone thinks to overdose a tank.
__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 03:59 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
Thanks for all your replies guys and gals.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:43 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, water changes are an excellent way to remove unwanted nutrients and replace trace elements, but think of it this way- say your nitrates are at 40. You do a 25% water change, which at best, will only bring it down to 30. Still haven't solved the problem, and if you haven't corrected the issue (overstocking, overfeeding, inadequate flow/detritus buildup...) they will just keep climbing.
Preventative measures are what I would recommend- picking the right fish and the right amount of fish for your system. Over-sizing your protein skimmer, and a regular water change regimen. A big enough filter for the bio load (live rock, possibly a large refugium or turf scrubber) is also very important.
What kind of water volume are we talking about total? is this 4' tank a 75? 90? 120?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:33 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
200LT tank.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
200 liters? roughly 52 gallons? I'd just get a good skimmer and stock reasonably.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 08:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
Cant connect skimmer as have a.moray eel.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 08:51 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
What about using NO3: PO4-X ?

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 08:53 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
What does having an eel have to do with not being able to have a skimmer? All the more reason to have a skimmer.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 10:44 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
I dont have a sump. The lids for the tank are to the corners and drillled for filtre pipes so moray cant escape.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 02:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Can you cut more holes?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM
To sump or not to sump RocketSeason Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-07-2004 06:12 PM
sump or no sump NJDevilsWinCup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-17-2004 10:56 AM
29 gal - To sump or not to sump? Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-31-2003 06:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.