10 gal. children's tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zarmalar

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new to having fish as pets but I wanted to get my daughter a fish tank as her first pets. I researched a good starter fish and decided on zebra danios for their high activity and hardiness. I've gotten the tank set up and have 3 ZD in the tank to start out and establish. I want to get 3 more ZD or glofish. So that way there is a school. But I don't want just 6 ZD ... I was looking at a dwarf gourami b/c they don't get very large and would do well by itself. Then to get 2 cory cats to help with clean up and give movement to the bottom of the tank.
Being as I'm new to this, does this all seem possible? Or is it too much?
Any advice appreciated.

:welcome: to AA! :)
zarmalar said:
I'm new to having fish as pets but I wanted to get my daughter a fish tank as her first pets. I researched a good starter fish and decided on zebra danios for their high activity and hardiness. I've gotten the tank set up and have 3 ZD in the tank to start out and establish. I want to get 3 more ZD or glofish. So that way there is a school. But I don't want just 6 ZD ... I was looking at a dwarf gourami b/c they don't get very large and would do well by itself. Then to get 2 cory cats to help with clean up and give movement to the bottom of the tank.
Being as I'm new to this, does this all seem possible? Or is it too much?
Any advice appreciated.
Make sure this tank is cycled first. You could do fish-in or fish less. Most prefer fish less due to no deaths.

IMO zebra danios do not belong in a ten gallon, they are far too active. The only danios I would recommend for a ten gallon are CPDs, which are hard to find sometimes.