Eclipse Hex 5 & Bettas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shalihe74

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello there, folks!

What a great and informative community you've got here; I'm glad to have found it!

I'm an aquarium newbie and, drawn in by the gestalt that they are pretty, mostly idiot-proof and low maintenance, I recently purchased two betta fish (Rho and Wade). Got them home and started doing research on them (backwards, I know), and learned that while they can live somewhere, doesn't mean they're going to be happy critters there. Being an animal lover, I can't have unhappy fish, so...

Back to the store I went and picked up an Eclipse Hex 5 tank, a divider, a heater and all the fixin's for a new tank (gravel, silk plants, water conditioner, etc.). Set it up, let it sit for a few days and then put my boys in there. They seem quite happy: zipping around, [mostly] ignoring each other, building bubble nests, etc.

My question for y'all: from the bit I've described here, does this sound like a good - if very simple - set-up for my boys? I have no problem buying another tank and separating them, if having 5 gallons each would make them happier lil dudes. I don't want to add any more critters to the tank (perhaps a snail on each side to clean up, but that's a big 'perhaps')