First time, trying not to go too wrong.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fatal Foxglove

Aquarium Advice Newbie
This is my first time actually setting up my own tank. I worked in a pet shop for a while, so technically I'm not completely clueless, then again I also quit because they were getting me (someone completely untrained in anything vet-related) to give the puppies their medications and shots. So as we can tell this isn't the best place to rely on for information.

I'm trying to just get the tank set up first and I know that it takes ages before you actually put any fish in, but I'm not completely sure on all the equipment I need. I've read that since I have a 20 gallon tank I should have a flow rate of at least 80 gallons. I'm trying to read through reviews of filters now and I'm more than a little swamped, so any advice on filters I'd greatly appreciate.

Also, I've been looking at heaters and it seems like I'll need anything from 50 watts to 100 watts depending on what I'm reading. I'll be keeping the fish in a room that's generally around 68F, and I've read that I'm supposed to keep the tank at 77F (unless I'm forcing my fish into a fever...? But I'm trying not to get too complicated yet, much less boil any poor unsuspecting fish) So I shouldn't need too heavy-duty a heater, at least in theory it seems.