Am I doing something wrong?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ShanLPardy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok, so I finally got everything I needed to get my 29G aquarium set up. I put in a layer of Fluval planting Stratum, granule format, for my live plants, covered it with about 2 inches of CaribSea Super Naturals sand. Added the water, set up the filter (AquaClear 30), got it going. I added Aquasafe Plus, Tetra Quick Cycle), and let it all go for a week.
The initial cloudiness has cleared up quite a nice bit, but there's a yellowish tinge to the water that doesn't seem to be leaving.
I have an ApI Freshwater Master Test Kit and I've been checking the water every 2 days. I read that there should be an initial ammonia bloom or something, and then the numbers should go down, etc etc. But according to the kit, everything is still at 0 ppm. I assumed that was because I don't actually have any fish in there yet, but some web sites still list a surge in chemicals, even without the fish.

Any help is greatly appreciated, as I am very new to this.

Yes, you are doing something wrong.

Ammonia cant just appear in the water. If you are doing a fish in cycle, the ammonia comes from fish waste. If you are doing a fishless cycle you have to dose ammonia. This can be pure ammonia, an aquarium specific ammonium chloride product. Many people use fish food or a cocktail shrimp which will produce ammonia when they decompose in tge water.

Ammonium chloride is the best way to go.