Green Cloudy!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
if the water itself is greenish, then that would be an algae bloom. how long do you keep the lights on, and it is near a window with direct sunlight?

also what type of lights do you have?

Can't get a pic just this minute and not sure about lights. I have to admit for a certain period each day it is in direct sunlight

It's the interpret 10gal ish fish box I'll try and get a pic thanks for the help

i would say the direct sunlight is causing your algae bloom, do you have any live plants in the tank? if not then there is nothing competing for nutrients in the tank, so algae will take over very quickly.

i would recommend finding a way to shade the tank from direct sunlight and also only leaving the lights on 6-8 hours a day.

to get rid of the algae bloom, and im no expert of this since i use alot of live plants and Co2, but i think some people suggest doing a blackout to the tank, cover it with blankets or whatever you have to allow no light to enter the tank and leave your lights off. i dont remember how long you should do this. anywhere from 24-72 hours.

Ok I just wanted to get a quick picture:

image-3207716655.jpg

Could this be harmful. I had a tiny bit of ammonia last time but it was 0.25 could this explain anything?

oh wow, you may need to have the tank covered for more then 3 days, and yes you may see ammonia rise doing all of this as the algae dies off. so water changes may also be needed during the processes

the algae its self is not harmful to the fish i dont think

****, looks like the hulk took a piss in your tank, lol. I think you can really benefit from getting a uv sterilizer. Since its in direct sunlight when the algae dies off after the dark period itll just start growing again.