High Ammonia, and Nitrite

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fox1

Aquarium Advice Regular
Sorry this may be a little long, the problem has quite the story behind it. I am new to fish and I got my first fish tank. I currently have a 10 gallon tank. I have had it for about 2 and a half weeks. I made a stupid choice by not doing the nitrogen cycle, I did not know about it at the time I got the tank.:banghead: I got 4 goldfish. Yes I know there to small for that size tank. I got them so I could get the tank started and see what happened. The first week was fine and my test strips had nothing out of the norm. So I decided to get 4 melini cory catfish to go along with my goldfish. I cleaned the tank the next day and I noticed that one of my goldfish had these black marks on it, which I immediately thought were ammonia burns. If that what is was I don't know, so I decided to go get the API Master test and I tested the water the next day. The measurements for both nitrite and ammonia are the strongest the color can go. So I quickly put some ammo lock in. I did some research and it sounds like I have New Tank Syndrome. Does this sound right? I thought to myself that I need to get these goldfish out because they are producing to much, so I put them in my pond. I am doing every other day water changes and putting in API quick start each time, obviously I put in Tetra Aqua safe to dechloranate the water. The nitrate went to a safe level but the Nitrite and Ammonia are still of the charts. I think that my cory catfish are feeling it because they don't eat and just lay at the bottom and SOMETIMES move.:confused: I don't know if this is normal or not. I don't know what else to do. I will do anything to keep those fish alive in that tank. Any ideas how to keep the levels down. Also I think its way to early to for the fish-in nitrogen cycle for these lev