Led lights help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sammm11

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I'm new to this whole aquarium kinda thing never even had a beta before but I bought a 10g maybe a week ago. I have a parrot cichlid and a bala shark. Should I keep the lights on all the time or turn them off at night? Help!

Hi I'm new to this whole aquarium kinda thing never even had a beta before but I bought a 10g maybe a week ago. I have a parrot cichlid and a bala shark. Should I keep the lights on all the time or turn them off at night? Help!

You need to turn the lights to give the fish time to rest. That aside, neither of those fish are suitable for a 10g.

I need some help too....I have a heavily planted 29gallon freshwater tank with co2 pressurized system.4days ago I bought fluval full spectrum aqualife and plant led light...it is beautiful but I don't see any changes ...how long is gonna take to see the changes of the plants?or am I too fast?

Just for future reference, it is best to start your own thread when you have a question, otherwise you may be seen as a 'hijacker.' Pertaining to your question, however, it largely depends on the strength of your lighting and the regular growth rate of the plants.

Last edited:

Both of those fish grow extremely large, a foot long for the bala shark and 8 inches for the parrot cichlid. You should return them or give them away. Do you know about cycling a fish tank? If not, read this:

http://www.oscarfishlover.com/helpful-articles/cycling-an-aquarium
Tips for Cycling Your New Aquarium - The First Tank Guide - Getting Your Fish Tank Up and Running with Minimal Headaches