My fish keep dying. Could GH/KH be the problem?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mtncrux

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 10 gallon tank that has been running for about 9 months now and has given me no end of problems.

I keep the tank lightly stocked :2 guppies, 4 cherry shrimp, and a small army of pond snails at any given time.

I have a API master test kit (liquid) and regularly monitor my water quality. Ammonia and NO2 are always 0, NO3 is always < 5ppm but I keep having fish die.

I fell like I am doing everything right, but fish keep dying.

I think I may be onto a clue. I just tested my water hardness using an API GH/KH test kit.

The tank KH is 3 degrees (3 drops of solution before color change)
The tank GH is off the chart of the API test kit. It took 13 drops of solution to get the color change which means than the GH is > 214ppm.

Tank PH is 7.4

I tested my tap water and got a KH of 2 degrees (2 drops of test solution) and a GH of 35ppm (2 drops of solution). I was very surprised that my tap water and my tank water were so different.

It has been 1 week since my last 30% water change.

So, my questions are:

1. Could the high GH be the reason that I have had so much trouble with this little tank? Over 9 months, I have managed to kill 5 guppies and 9 pygmy cories. (not all at the same time, I never had more than 3 guppies at a time. I kept stupidly replacing them then they would die after a few weeks/months). The last two guppies that I lost died two days after a water change. Ammonia, NO2 NO3 levels were all 0 when the fish died, but I didn't think to check GH/KH. It does make sense that if they were used to the hard water, then doing a water change and severely lowering the hardness might have killed them.