New 50 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rainbow shark

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just bought a used 50 gallon aquarium. I am thinking of doing a planted tank, maybe 10 plants. I was thinking pool filter sand as a substrate, probably 2.5 inches deep. I was going to do a rock cave and a driftwood stump for decorations. This will be a low tec aquarium so I was thinking anubis nana, amazon sword, contortion val, and java fern. My proposed stoking list is as folows.

1 x Rainbow Shark (Epalzeorhynchos frenatum)
6 x Tiger Barb (Puntius tetrazona)
6 x Julii Cory (Corydoras julii)
2 x Blue Gourami (Trichogaster trichopterus)
2 x Golden Gourami (Trichogaster trichopterus)
10 x Malaysian Trumpet Snail (Melanoides tuberculata)
10 x Ramshorn Snail (Planorbidae)

I am very new to the world of aquariums and any advice or sugestions would be greatly apretiated.:D

I just bought a used 50 gallon aquarium. I am thinking of doing a planted tank, maybe 10 plants. I was thinking pool filter sand as a substrate, probably 2.5 inches deep. I was going to do a rock cave and a driftwood stump for decorations. This will be a low tec aquarium so I was thinking anubis nana, amazon sword, contortion val, and java fern. My proposed stoking list is as folows.

10 x Malaysian Trumpet Snail (Melanoides tuberculata)
10 x Ramshorn Snail (Planorbidae)

I am very new to the world of aquariums and any advice or sugestions would be greatly apretiated.:D

Be sure that you only get one male gourami. They will not play nice with each other.

Be careful with the Malaysian Trumpet Snail. You will be starting out with 10, but will end up with 100's to even 1000's. Make sure that you absolutely want them and that there will be enough food for your other bottom dwellers.