New South American 29 gal tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coryluv

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm sitting here waiting for my new tank to arrive. They tell me it is on the truck.

I had a tank with fish that I lost last year when I had to move due to circumstances I could not control. Because I always had seed material in the past, cycling was a breeze. This time I have to cycle from scratch. I'm going to try the dead shrimp cycle. I have a new API freshwater master test kit all ready. I also have a 500 ml bottle of Prime.

My driftwood (manzanita) and rocks (granite river stones from the LFS) are soaking in a bucket. My driftwood already sinks and barely tints the water. I have a lot of sand washing in my very near future. I expect that to be the single most time consuming job I have to do today.

The good news about starting over is that it truly is a fresh start. I'm tailoring everything to the fish I plan to keep which are small tetras and corys. The only exact species I'm absolutely set on at this point are Gold Pristella Tetras. I saw some at the LFS and completely fell in love with them. As to corys there are so many to choose from and I think they are all wonderful. The only ones I'm not as partial to are the albinos, but only because of the color (or lack thereof). I plan on having 6 corys when fully stocked. It will be a while before I get there, though.

This will definitely be a South American tank with one small departure because though it is more Central American, I love ludwigia repens. I'm sticking with easy plants. I'm doing live plants, but my focus is not plants, it is fish.

I'll be posting pictures as soon as I have some.

Sounds cool and I'm looking forward to pictures. Have you given any thought to some small South American cichlids?