New to all of this, check my research...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tcjones

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi!

Been lurking and researching here for awhile, so here is my first post. My three year old is absolutely enthralled with fish. So for Christmas I will be setting up a 29 gallon tank for him. I am a chemist by profession, so I can't help but to totally OCD on the research before I start. (Plus I have a full lab to sneak my water samples into :D) Ok this what I have so far.

A 30 inch wrought iron stand that I go from my in-laws. It was probably 20 years old, so I sanded and painted it myself to restore it. It was a nifty little project.

29 gallon glass aquarium with 30 inch florescent hood.

Things to buy / scavenge...

Filter: Marineland Penguin 200 or Marineland 280. I don't know which I want to go with yet, maybe ya'll can help me out? :confused:

Heater: Fluval 150W Heater

Air: Fusion 500 Airpump and air stone.

Vacuum: Aqueon water changer

AP Master test

Seachem Prime

Thermometer

Substrate: I am trying to decided between the Caribsea Peace River gravel or Sunset Gold sand. I would like to go with the sand because I want some cory cats, but I don't know how easy to clean it would be. Anyone used these substrates?

Silk Plants

River rock from the back yard. I plan to run these through the dishwasher with no soap. Will this be effective enough cleaning?

Stocking (after cycle ofcourse)
6 X Panda Cories
10 X Rummynose Tetra
1 X Bolivian Ram

Ok now for a cycling question. I have access to very pure ammonia at work so I want to do a fishless cycle, but every guide I have read suggest to get and old filter or substrate from an established tank. I have no access to a tank, no family or friends have one. Does the bacteria fairy just come by and bless my tank? I haven't seen this answered anywhere.