Newbie help -stocking.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tjt34

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to this hobby and to these forums, although I am already grateful for all the useful info in the 'getting started' stickies.

I recently bought my first aquarium & equipment (unfortunately before I found these forums) and am now trying to be patient whilst it cycles (no fish yet).

The aquarium is only 23l and I now know that a smaller size can be harder to keep and so I want to get some advice on stocking.

Basically my local shop will only have 'common' fish but I want to get some opinions on suitable numbers of suitable sized fish for a beginner as I'm keen not to overstock.

Any help much appreciated!!

-TJT

23 litre aquarium
No live plants
Heater (so tropical fish please)

P.S 23l is 6 US gallons (I think).

I would be interested in shrimp or snail as well as a couple fish but not sure I can mix and if I would need live plants?

-TJT

Tetras , Research them and find your favourtite type of Tetra.

they are perfect for your size tank get about 5 - 6 of them!

You could do a betta fish with shrimp and/or a snail. You could also do a few guppies or endler's livebearers. Nano fish such as celestial pearl danios or chili rasbora may also work.

Aces11 said:
You could do a betta fish with shrimp and/or a snail. You could also do a few guppies or endler's livebearers. Nano fish such as celestial pearl danios or chili rasbora may also work.

+1 being your first tank and its small imo id go with either danios or a betta

-1 danios need room to swim, they are fast moving and should be in at least a 20 gallon long. Nano fish would be more at home or a Betta.

Ok. Having visited a few local fish shops and getting my aquarium all set up, I have the following initial thoughts as to my stock.
Can anybody suggest why any of this would not work;