Newbie needs avise please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

soonerbarb

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Need advise please! I am a newbie and have had my 20 gal since October. I do 20% water changes every two weeks and have had good luck so far. Lost 2 fish to the filter (got that corrected). I had :( a Beta and he did real well for about 1 month, then one day all his fins were gone, I took him out and put him back in his old tank but he didn't last long. Anyway, I received an email notice to do a 50% water change, is this needed? I am unsure about the water changes still. :)

Tell us more about your tank. The beta probably lost his fins to another fish. A 50% water change is a bit drastic, unless there was a problem with the water. :)

my tank is "perfect" :roll:

I am wanting to add some more plants soon, all fish are healthy!

What tankmates were in with the betta? Guppies, especially ones with long colorful fins, and tetras are two species I can think of offhand that bettas don't do well with. A group of fast-swimming fish may stress a betta too. A betta may mistake a guppy for another male betta, and attack it. A group of tetras can gang up on and nip a betta. All this leads to betta stress, which leads to disease. When stressed, bettas' fins can often get ragged. This could turn into finrot, which must be treated with meds. Some bettas do well in a community tank if they get along with the tankmates. Some will not, and prefer their own tank. I have my bettas in 5 gallon tanks, with a 25-watt heater and sponge filter. A tank like this is cheap and easy to set up for a betta.