Newbie needs help ASAP! 20g and cycle troubles

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AllyH

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Please help
Part 1) Need a cycle

I recently got a 20H tank, and have everything I need except a cycle. I went to Petco and a local fish store and they both gave me bacteria starters and said that's all I needed, but I know I need ammonia to feed the bacteria. My mom wants me to go with the bacteria starters but I know it's a waste of time. Can you help me convince her that ammonia is what I need? She thinks that if it were a viable option, it would be sold at fish stores and the old- timers would be aware of it by now

Part 2) Stocking?

I know that Guppies, Ghost Shrimp, Tetra, African dwarf frogs and a Bristlenose Pleco for alge seem compatible and a good option for me. I want something fun but semi-hardy (I am a newbie after all) and these options seem all right. What do you guys suggest I could stock it with that would fit my needs. I'm open to suggestions but I have my heart set on guppies and shrimp.

Additional info)
Hydor 100W adjustable submersible heater
4 1/2 inch sponge filter for 20-40 gallons (w/ air pump and rest of setup)
Sand substrate
Normal lights
I've been getting all of my info until now from Tumblr (The fish community is huge!) and my mom doesn't trust the people on there giving me advice
My tank is currently full of conditioned water with sand and filter up and running. My heater is coming tomorrow.

Please help, I want what's best for my future fish!
:fish2: Thanks!