Newbie seeking advice on 55gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ladeia3

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

Unfortunately I'm a total newbie, and not one of the smart ones who does a lot of research first. I kind of jumped in with only a little research.

I have a 55 gallon freshwater tank. It has 8 zebra danios, 6 platies, 6 tiger barbs, 1 algae eater, 1 plectus catfish and 2 crabs. Is this too much for the tank? And will all these be alright together or should I remove any? They seem to all being doing alright. Can I add any ghost shrimp or any other fish at a later date?

The ph level has stayed at 7.8. Other than adding driftwood or chemicals is there any other method of lowering the ph? The other levels are good according to the master test kit.

WIN_20160102_091958.jpg

What should I add plant wise? I currently have 4 live plants randomly picked at Petco.

Thanks for any help.
LE

So, your stocking is mostly ok. The only major issues I see are the algae eater and the crabs. Crabs need air and brackish water so they will drown in your tank.

What kind of algae eater do you have? And by plectus do you mean a pictus catfish or a pleco?

I would get better lights rather than more plants. Those lights look very weak, and many plants sold by Petco are actually terrestrial plants that will die and rot underwater.

How long has this tank been set up?

By the way, that looks like a 55 gallon kit setup. If so you're going to need another filter.

Freshwater fish are highly adaptable. 7.8 isn't too extreme so the best thing you can do is to not mess with it.