Noob here made a mistake, hoping you guys/gals can help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lleversmann

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok first off i bought the 10g starter kit, came with the tank,heater,filter and the chemicals. I bought an accessory and 2 large fake plants and 2 small fake plants. The lady at petsmart said that i could take it home and run it with the chemicals for 24 hours then i would be ready to buy and put my fish in the tank. So i washed everything out (with only water) that includes the tank the accessory the plants filter heater everything. I added the water primed my filter and added the chemicals. Stupid me didnt get any kind of test strips or testing system,It ran for about 28 hours, then i went back to petsmart and bought 2 male Dalmatian mollys. I placed them in my tank (still in the bag they came in from petsmart) let them adjust to my water temperature and then released them into my tank. Now they are just swimming at the top (right at the water line) beside my heater. Am i killing my fish? PLEASE help

Your best bet is to return your fish and do a fish-less cycle. Let me find the link on "nitrogen cycle for dummies"...

Swimming at the top can be a sign of low oxygen, an air pump and bubble wand can help that. Since they are new to the tank they may also be acclimating to your tank.

What chemicals did you add? Unfortunately, no chemical can make your tank ready for fish overnight, at least that I know of.