pH problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tessymae

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all I am new to this and very desperate at this point. I took a water sample to an aquarium shop and they tested my water and said everything was good except my pH was to high 7.8. So I tested my tap water and it too had high pH. I brought water in from an outside source tested it and the pH was perfect. I put the water in the aquarium left it set for 14 hours and the pH went up in it. There is absolutely nothing in the tank except water and the running filter. No rocks, No fish, No plants, No gravel. When I did the last complete water change on Friday I washed out the aquarium itself and everything. I don't know what else to do. What caused my pH to rise in the tank that has nothing in it?

7.8 is not too high. all of my tanks run at 7.8. If it is stable, its fine. my only question is why did you take everything out of the tank and wash it?

the guy at the store told me that something in my tank was causing my pH to go up. He said to take everything out and start all over. Starting with plan water with the right pH and see if it goes up when nothing else is in the tank. That is what happen. The pH was fine when I put it in the tank then while it set overnight it went up. I have tried putting many fish into the aquarium and they have all died. He said tropical fish can't live in a pH that high.