Planning a new 135g cichlid tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bucketbreath

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi -

I have a 135g tank with fine sand.

I'm planning on converting to a cichlid tank, but I need advice as to which types I could have together in a large community tank. I'm a total newbie when it comes to cichlids.

I'd prefer a range of fish from 2 - 6 inches full grown, and I like the really colorful ones. And I'd prefer a more non-aggressive tank.

Is it possible to mix different sizes? Different lakes?

Any advice would be great! Thanks!

Hello. I'd love to have a 135 gal. tank. I don't have the room. :( I keep African Cichlids, primarily from Lake Malawi, in my 55 gal. tank. They are aggressive fish by nature, so be prepared. They're very entertaining though. Many people have told me that they have successfully mixed Africans from both lakes. The only experience I have had is trying to put a South American in my tank. He was so pretty...and I got him for free. But he got the crap beaten out of him by the other fish, big and small. It was a mistake and I sold him within a week or so. My friend keeps green and red terrors, and an oscar (all South/Central American)in his 100 gal. They're not as colorful as my fish, but they are still very nice and significantly larger. Good luck on your tank.

One thing I've heard is that you should buy all your cichlids at once. This way, none of them get a chance to settle in and 'claim' an area before you put them all in.

I would do lots of research first. I bought three cichlids without knowing much about them. Turns out they get big and mean! Who wudda thunk it? :D