Question about nitrates and water change

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larochem595

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello,
I feel like this is a silly question but I'm going to ask anyway...I'm new to fishkeeping.

Today the nitrates in my tank was at about 40 ppm (I couldn't tell if I was in the 20 or the 40 ppm) so I decided to do about a 50% water change. I slowly added in the new water but one of my fish looked rather unhappy, had its fins clamped and just stayed in my plants. The other were all going about their usual business. The water was properly aged, conditioned and temperature matched.
My question is this: is it possible to do too much of a water change? I wonder if that much of a change in nitrates was a shock to my fish? Should I be changing less water at a time?

Thanks in advance for the help,
Michelle

Hello,

I feel like this is a silly question but I'm going to ask anyway...I'm new to fishkeeping.

Today the nitrates in my tank was at about 40 ppm (I couldn't tell if I was in the 20 or the 40 ppm) so I decided to do about a 50% water change. I slowly added in the new water but one of my fish looked rather unhappy, had its fins clamped and just stayed in my plants. The other were all going about their usual business. The water was properly aged, conditioned and temperature matched.

My question is this: is it possible to do too much of a water change? I wonder if that much of a change in nitrates was a shock to my fish? Should I be changing less water at a time?

Thanks in advance for the help,

Michelle

This is a very good question and not silly at all. To cut a long story short, fish keepers I feel need to be more aware of something called TDS (total dissolved solids) TDS is all salts minerals and heavy metals that are in the water. You cannot see them. Nitrates are a part of this.