SOS!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kat30

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys;

I am in a great need of an advice. I am a total newbie when it comes to fish. Being desperate for a pet (yes, I know it sounds very bad from the beginning), I went to a pet store and started asking fish as I always liked them. I was told that there is nothing easier than looking after goldfish and even child could do it.

Clearly, it is not the case. I got a 35 liters tank, cycled water for 24 hrs and treated it with AquaSafe to neutralise chlorine, and SafeStart that supposed to contain friendly bacteria. I also put in gravel and a wooden plank (all washed carefully beforehand). 24hrs later I went to the shop and got 4 goldfish (2 small fantailes, 1 small balck moor, 1 small/medium black oranda). I also got two plants, one in a pot and one floating ( I have no clue how they are called though). The fish seemed to be happy in their new home and I was happy too to have new friends. But this morning, I found tank to be all green, one fish dead and other 3 gasping for air. I do not know how did it happened. The filter was one, and they did not have direct sunlight either.