Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-20-2023, 12:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 23
Starting over

I took my aquarium apart. I was probably .ever getting the smell out. The sand smelled so bad itwas disgusting. I cleaned out the tank with some water and vinegar. I now have the Flourite in for the substrate with seeds down. To grow moss and tall grass. I am going to set it up the right way. I do believe the sand I was using was part of the problem. It just packed down not fluffy. I have the same sand in my five gallon tank. Having issues in that tank as well. Cycling a aquarium takes 4 to 8 weeks? Nothing can go in them at this time right?

__________________
Ked2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2023, 01:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 4,880
Cycling a tank takes a couple of months.

You either do this by adding a few fish, monitoring water quality and slowly build up the number of fish. This is called a fish in cycle.

Or you can dose ammonia daily, monitor how quick your tank removes the ammonia, and when you are able to dose 2ppm ammonia and see it cycled out to 0ppm ammonia and nitrite in 24 hours you are cycled and can add fish. This is called a fishless cycle.

There is a different process to cycle a tank depending on if you do a fish in or fishless cycle.

Simply setting up a tank and letting it run for a period of time wont do anything. All you are doing is circulating water. You need ammonia in the tank to cycle it. Either artificially dosed (fishless) or actual fish waste (fish in).
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2023, 02:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 23
Can you do this with shrimp or dose it need to be fish?
__________________
Ked2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2023, 02:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 4,880
You can use a dead shrimp as an ammonia source.

Shrimp are more intolerant of poor water quality than a hardy fish, so a "fish in" cycle using shrimp instead of fish would be more risky, but it would work the same.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2023, 02:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Perth in Western Australia
Posts: 1,274
If the sand was turning black in patches and smelt awful it had rotting organic matter trapped under it. You can use a gravel cleaner to clean the gravel and prevent this from happening.
__________________
Colin_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2023, 04:06 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin_T View Post
If the sand was turning black in patches and smelt awful it had rotting organic matter trapped under it. You can use a gravel cleaner to clean the gravel and prevent this from happening.

This is a sand substrate. Not everyone in the hobby uses gravel.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2023, 09:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Perth in Western Australia
Posts: 1,274
You can gravel clean sand
__________________
Colin_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2023, 04:49 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin_T View Post
You can gravel clean sand

That just doesnít make sense
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2023, 03:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Matt68005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,780
Ive found that the smell usually comes from prime or amquel plus that has been opened too long and started to get funky.
I doubt it was the sand, unless you were cycling your aquarium, then a wierd fishy smell is normal especially if your cycling using fish food.
Carbon can get rid of smell or just using a little melafix.
Cut way back on feeding either way and make sure not to use amquel plus with every water change. Its not made for that and starts to smell, i found out the hard way.
__________________
Matt68005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
star, start, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Tank over heated 90+ degrees over night plz help!! DMichael Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 07-02-2012 09:40 PM
Fish Over Hauling... Going to be Over Stocked? JesseMessykinn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-29-2011 01:58 PM
Irridescent Sharks, Recurring Fin Rot (over and over) BobFish Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 11 12-27-2007 04:05 PM
over stocked vs. over stressed lyquidphyre Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 01-23-2005 04:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.