stocking fw 29 gal peaceful community

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gabysapha

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Any ideas?

29g freshwater tank, it's my first planted tank! Cabomba, water wisteria, java fern, java moss, red ludwigia. The plants haven't filled in yet, it's only been a few weeks since I purchased them. Low light low tech.

Light, natural colored pea gravel is the substrate.

I'm a busy student so I hope the plants can help me keep my water nice for the fish :)

I've done lots of research, been keeping nano tanks for 5 years. I'm not confident enough to tackle more sensitive fish than the usual beginner's stock; I also don't want to spend money on fish I may lose!

Current fish: 2 female platies, one yellow and one red wag. 10 Endler's livebearers, yellow and black. A few RCS from my colony. a couple snails.

My thoughts:
I have tried neon tetras and have given up on them! But I love their look!

I want to keep this peaceful.

A school of fish would look great; I have a lot of open space. A mid level swimmer would be ideal. I have thought of Cherry Barbs and Harlequin Rasboras.

I hope for a dash of blue somewhere in the tank.

Cories are a must :)

All suggestions would be very much appreciated! I don't like stocking tanks by myself; I love input!

gabysapha said:
Any ideas?

29g freshwater tank, it's my first planted tank! Cabomba, water wisteria, java fern, java moss, red ludwigia. The plants haven't filled in yet, it's only been a few weeks since I purchased them. Low light low tech.

Light, natural colored pea gravel is the substrate.

I'm a busy student so I hope the plants can help me keep my water nice for the fish :)

I've done lots of research, been keeping nano tanks for 5 years. I'm not confident enough to tackle more sensitive fish than the usual beginner's stock; I also don't want to spend money on fish I may lose!