Total noob starting question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shiki

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, this is my first post here and I'd like to get some advice.
I bought the 20gallon Tetra startup glass aquarium kit last Saturday and I'm trying to plan what I want to go in.

I have some ideas so let me run them by you all and would be greatful for your advice and suggestions.

Here is my proposed stock list:

5 silver tip tetras
5 serpae tetras
5 Amano shrimp
1 blue crayfish
1 Siamese Algae eater or albino shark

With that. A few moss balls. Drift wood and some rocks.

How does that sound? And should I also get a bubbler?

You can use this website to help plan out your stock. Just plug in your tank size and filtration, click update, then click display only suitable fish and search for the ones you like.
AqAdvisor - Intelligent Freshwater Tropical Fish Aquarium Stocking Calculator and Aquarium Tank/Filter Advisor

That's what was suggested to me when i started on here a couple of months ago and it it was extremely helpful. As far as bubblers go, oxygen in the water is a big must for the nitrogen cycle and for the fish you plan to stock. Bubblers are a big help and pleasant on the eyes, but a filter that breaks the surface will suffice. You just need something breaking the surface, bubbles or filtered water, to get the gas exchange going.

I'm no expert on plants but i'm sure someone with knowledge of that will be on to help you out. Hope I was able to help!!

Hi all, this is my first post here and I'd like to get some advice.
I bought the 20gallon Tetra startup glass aquarium kit last Saturday and I'm trying to plan what I want to go in.

I have some ideas so let me run them by you all and would be greatful for your advice and suggestions.

Here is my proposed stock list:

5 silver tip tetras
5 serpae tetras
5 Amano shrimp