Greetings from Sedona

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

johnofsedona

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone, I appreciate the opportunity to become a member of this community. I recently retired and decided to get back into the hobby after a long absence. In college, I studied Zoology and had a couple of tanks so I’m not a complete newbie but it's been so long, that I feel like I am learning all over again. I plan to have multiple tanks so that I can (over time) set up different themes based on the needs of the fish and have a variety in terms of beginner-friendly fish vs. advanced-level fish . Last September, I set up a 75 gallon freshwater with 5 Black Skirt Tetras, 5 Red Serpae Tetras, 5 “Blonde” Tetras, 4 Chinese Algae Eaters and 1 Bristlenose pleco. It is also has live plants with various common species. I live in northern Arizona and there are no local fish stores other than Petsmart and Petco so that is where I bought these fish. The Chinese algae eaters were labeled “algae eater” and at the time, I didn’t know what I was buying. Turns out I was able to identify the species by their markings and understand the difference between the Chinese AE and the Siamese AE. So far they are doing fine with the other fish and I am keeping them well fed so they do not become as aggressive as their reputation purports them to be in the fish forums, but I understand they may become more aggressive as they mature.

Here is my set up to date (all freshwater and planted except for a 10g quarantine tank and a 10g isolation tank):

(1) 75g – beginner friendly community fish (tetras, etc.)
(1) 29g - beginner friendly community fish (mollies and one Angel, 3 otocinclus)
(1) 75g – empty but fully planted and cycled ready for fish
(1) 40g – empty but fully planted and cycled ready for fish
(1) 29g – empty but fully planted and cycled ready for fish