Water changes.....How do I do it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dmac

Aquarium Advice Regular
Sounds like a dumb question, I know....but what is the best method to go about water changes? Specifically:

If I do a 10% change on my 30 gallon tank, thats 3 gallons.....I assume I ought to dechlorinate the water before I add it? I have tablets for 10 gallons of water, so I'll probably just break the tablet in half.

Also, how do I get the old water out to do the change? The gravel vacuum?

I am just getting started, so I haven't had to do this yet.....Any tips?

It's not a dumb question. It is one of the biggest aspects of tank maintenance.

You can use a gravel vac or a product such as a Python. The python attaches to your faucet and pulls the water from the tank. Turn the switch and water refills back into the tank. It is one of the best inventions ever made for aquariums and comes in 25' , 50' , 75' , and 100' lengths. No more buckets, pitchers of water, or saucers in the tank. You can add the dechlorinator before, during, or after adding the water. I add it while the water is pumping into the tanks.

The cheapest dechlorinator (that I have found) is Prime. It is heavily concentrated so it lasts a long time. It removes chlorine and chloramines. Are you on well water or city water?

Wow, thanks for the tip.

I live in a condo, I think I am either on town water or there is a local water treatment on the premisis that gives our water..... How does the Python not suck out fish? has a filter on the end or something? I'll take a look at the LFS now....

So its ok to add dechlorinator tablets to my tank with the fish in there?