Do I have aptasia? (pictures)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ironmanxl1

Aquarium Advice Regular
I think I know what aptasia looks like but I wanted to make sure. I just got live rock and they are all over.

Rockwork001.jpg

Rockwork003.jpg

Rockwork004.jpg

Rockwork008.jpg

Rockwork010.jpg

i'm no expert, but ive seen a few pictures of aptasia and that looks like it

thats what they look like to me.... A pest and need to be nuked ASAP.
I hear joes juice works or kalk paste. Good luck

I bought some Stop Aptasia from the LFS and killed two of them just to see if it worked.
I'll kill the rest as soon as the tank is done cycling.

is that LR.com rock? I thought that that's what I had all over my rock.. I knew what they were but hoping they weren't..... I hate killing animals.. especially after reading about anemones in this book I have, it reads that some can live to be centuries old. that sucks that I have to kill a poor little animal! :roll: But I know the consequence, so I guess I have to.. :(

so to get rid of these things u have to buy something like joe's juice or something..I've read that peppermint shrimp is a cold water shrimp and the banded butterfly fish gets too big and is too aggressive.. btw.. ur tank looks like mine with all the aptasia..:)

yeah that's all lr.com rock. great looking rock but aptasia city. Are all the pictures aptasia? I only took pictures of the big ones..there are plenty of small ones too :roll:

they reproduce quickly and kill fish and corals and other anemones.. basically they take over your tank.. in this book that I have it calls it "devil's plague".