Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-25-2015, 05:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Betta fin problem

I'm a bit of a beginner with this forum AND the aquariums.

I have had my betta for just over a month now and a school of 6 neon tetras for about 2 weeks and have no problems up until this point.

I was out of town over night (left one evening and came back the next afternoon). I left the lights to my 5 gallon aquarium off. When I came home my Betta's fins were ripped up. I cannot tell if it's fin rot or fin ripping. His fins were in perfect condition before I left.

The tank has a filter and a heater which is kept between 25 and 27 degrees Celsius all the time (I check temperature frequently) the aquarium get a complete cleaning routine every 2 weeks. I use the gravel "vacuum" whenever the gravel starts to collect fish waste and uneaten food. I then top up whatever water has been taken out by the vacuum along with some water condition to remove any chlorine or other harmful chemicals. The filter cartridges r change simultaneously after 2 week cleaning routine. Over all the tank is kept relatively clean.

Here is my betta when I first bought him. Since he's been in my aquarium he's gained more colour and his fins have been kept in the perfect condition from which I bought him Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1435266466.745310.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	18.8 KB
ID:	274250

This is my betta now. Today I just noticed a hole in the middle of his top fin. Although he has not lost any colour. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1435266681.114051.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	274251