Betta sick - amm spike, need help ASAP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BlueVelvet

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I’m new to this forum and would like to say Hi but also I need help. My betta fish Royalty is just sitting at the bottom of the tank. It’s a 10 gallon tank with live plants and gravel and he’s the only fish in the tank. I have a foam, carbon, ammonia and bio filter for media and it’s a hang on back filter.

At first I thought it was swim bladder and that maybe I fed him too much, but I realized when I tested my water I was having an ammonia Spike. I got bad fish advice since I’m new to the hobby in the last year that I could just rinse my carbon filter out and I would be fine instead of changing every month. Well clearly, that has now affected my fish and I’ll never do that again. I will change it once a month.

Once I discovered the water issue, I’ve added a new carbon & ammonia filter (except I rinsed them out on tap water ����*♀️) and have done 20-30% water changes w/ Prime last 3 days

I know it takes a bit to get things back but should I be medicating him too or just doing daily water changes? I don’t want to do too much since hes already having a hard time but he does have some red streaks on the bottom of his white. Any help is appreciated as I’m not sure what else to do and I feel horrible he’s not able to move, just sitting at the bottom like that.

Thank you,
Blue

Attachments

• 80564603-BBAC-41F5-AECE-2060A2A57FC3.jpg
    80564603-BBAC-41F5-AECE-2060A2A57FC3.jpg
    158.4 KB · Views: 16
  • 7BECC069-D79C-4CFC-B42C-60CFA3124318.jpg
    7BECC069-D79C-4CFC-B42C-60CFA3124318.jpg
    210.3 KB · Views: 15
  • F670E520-2F1C-4115-9A4B-804846016292.jpg
    F670E520-2F1C-4115-9A4B-804846016292.jpg
    210.3 KB · Views: 21
  • 096D0AD7-1158-4699-9C76-D86E0B87A1A2.jpg
    096D0AD7-1158-4699-9C76-D86E0B87A1A2.jpg