Bronze catfish and gourami acting strange

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Onewayoflife

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello!! I have recently got a new aquarium, an stupidly, put fish in straight away.(i know.) i got 2 small bottles with the tank, one called Nutrafin Cycle (i added all of this) and Nutrafin something plus.The water is slightly cloudy, and my bronze catfish is frantically swimming round, and my dwarf gourami is sitting at one corner. other than putting the fish in early, did i do something wrong? is this normal behavior, or should i worry? (sorry, i am new to fishkeeping!):thanks:

Putting the fish in an uncycled tank sounds like your problem. If you can't return the fish, you'll need to do 50% or more water changes every day until you can verify that the ammonia and nitrItes and 0 and the nitrates are showing, around 5-40.

If you don't already have a liquid test kit that tests for these, you'll need to purchase one.

Well, adding the entire bottle of nutrafin cycle probably didn't help much either lol... You need to do a 50% water change... fast.

Indeed. Rather than provide nitrifying bacteria, usually what those bacteria-in-a-bottle things do is jumpstart the production of ammonia by breaking down waste faster. So in essence, you may have given your fish an even more lethal dose of ammonia than they would have in a regular, uncycled tank.

Possibly, my dad has a liquid test kit somewhere, I will have to dig it out. The nutrafin cycle bottle was only a starter, about 25ml(?). I will do 50% water changes daily an water tests. Should I still use the tap water conditioner when I part change the water? ( sorry for all the stupid questions!)

Onewayoflife said: