Goldfish's eyes are bulging out more (Popeye?)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blood-Pop

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First off, I'm not an expert in fish. I know very little about them. I didn't go out and get a fish for the sake of having one, (I only would've done that if I had knowledge about taking care of them first), but my Dad passed away, and he owned this goldfish (Lincoln). So, I kind of had no choice but to take care of the fish.

Onto Lincoln's problem. His eyes are bulging out more than they used to. When I first got him, his eyes bulged out a little (like all fish), but they were more flat and even with each other. Now, they're bulging out quite a bit more than they used to, and more at the top than the bottom.
I've read that eye-bulging is an underlying symptom of something else, so I'd like help determining what.
He's still actively swimming around and eating. His poop is sometimes white and kind of stringy, though. And he's missing a few scales, but I don't know if he lost them in my care or not.

I don't have any kind of water quality tester, so I can't test if the quality is "poor" or not. (I wouldn't even know how to fix the quality.)

If you know what the problem with him is, please tell me what it is and how I can medicate him. :(

Very sorry for your loss.
First off, you should get a test kit. The water quality is very important to a fishes health. If you don't already have water conditioner you should go to your local fish store and get some Prime is one of the best it takes care of more quality issues than most others on the market.
If you can't get a test kit of your own most fish stores will test the water for you for free (tho it is better to test your own water)
What size tank do you have?
How long has it been sense the water was partially changed?