Ich treatment guidance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bennyblee

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, unfortunately less than 2 weeks after stocking my new tank (after completing a fishless cycle), I think I have a mild outbreak of ich among my neon tetras. Would appreciate some guidance here as this is my first time dealing with this. I have two main questions. First, I have CPDs in the tank, any thoughts on maximum temp? Unfortunately I don't have a quarantine tank. Second, so far the outbreak appears to be very mild. Is medication absolutely necessary here, or if it's not getting significantly worse can I pull them through with just religious water changes and vacuuming? Aquarium salt? Full details below.

Thanks in advance!

Fish: I have 5 neon tetras, 6 CPDs, and 3 female guppies. Only the tetras are affected, 3 of the fish have 3-4 spots each. I first noted a single spot on the tail of one tetra 2 days ago (pic #1), that spot is now already gone and I don't see any more spots on this fish, now just the few spots on the others. All fish are from the same LFS.

Parameters: ammonia & nitrites 0, nitrates 7.5 ppm, temp 76F, pH 7.8.

Tank: 20g high, set up 2 months ago, finished fishless cycle 2 weeks ago, fish stocked 10 days ago. Gravel substrate, plastic decor, no live plants.

Filter: Marina Slim S20 HOB, filled with sponge material, biorings, and a Purigen packet (NOT the special filter cartridges). Set to medium flow, plenty of bubbles at the drop-in, not sure what the gph is.

Maintenance: First vacuuming +50% PWE was 4 days ago (1 week after initial stocking). Since I noticed the first spot 2 days ago, I have been doing daily vacuuming and 30% PWE, and plan to continue until this gets sorted out.

Feedings: Twice daily, alternating tetra flakes, Omega One micropellets, and frozen brine shrimp.

Attachments

• Neon tetra 1.jpg