I'm perplexed! Ich or fungus - Betta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

waffelo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone:
I'm a fishie newbie.
My betta, Fishman, is ill. I can't figure out if this is ich or fungus. He has a few white spots that look ich-like, but they are only a couple on his head and one by his mouth - nothing on his body/tail/fins. The treatments I've tried so far:
Aquarisol
Pennicilin powder
Bettamax
CopperSafe
(all with about a week's time, and water changes in between)
As of today, there is no difference. This has been going on for about three weeks.
I'm not sure what to treat him with. He's been in his one-gallon bowl for at least three years with no issues. Don't know the PH and ammonia, Ive never checked it and never had a problem before this. I just use room temp tap water for his water changes. He's still acting fine and eating and blowing his bubble nests. But I don't like these spots. :?
Sorry for the long post... If anyone can give me advice... Thanks!

[center:8d7f020338] :smilecolros: Welcome to AA, waffelo! :n00b: [/center:8d7f020338]
Long post?? What long post? No such thing here :D
I'm not a betta keeper, but as a fish keeper, I will tell you that sounds like you didn't give any of the meds long enough to work.
With "Betta" in the thread title, the betta keepers will show up soon.
BTW--one gallon betta bowls are not an ideal habitat for a betta, but I'll let a betta keeper get into that.

Hi waffelo,
Take a look at this article about ich: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showquestion.php?faq=2&fldAuto=32

Look at the pics and see if the white spots look like your betta's spots. I'm guessing that it's not ich, because you said it's been going on for three weeks with no change.