Neon Tetras

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

asboss

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all,

I have 5 Neon Tetras and from the first day one of the Tetras has kept away from the rest, when the others go towards it the lone tetra chases them away!!.
This isn't the main problem though, when I feed the others take food but the lone tetra never seems to get any. He is now smaller and thinner than the others. :confused:
Can anyone help ?? I think we might loose him to starvation:nono::nono:

Regards
(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)

Im not an expert on tetra behavior/schooling behavior but generally, if a fish is sick it will isolate itself. Can you possibily qt the fish in question? At the very least, you would be able to assure he is getting adequate food. Hopefully, somone with more neon experience can help figure this out!

I have several neons and i notice that they dont tend to eat...however if you look closely they are eating really small specks of food since the bigger fish tend to grab the bigger flakes first. If you feel that they are not eating i would QT them and feed them there so that you know for sure if they are eating or not. Not eating is a sign of sickness so i would deff check into it.

This happened to my neons. In my opinion its because the one isolated fish is smaller, sick, or it was bought from a differant store and needs time to get used to its fellow fish. Or maybe the fish was kept in a differant tank at the store and need time to school. Sadly ur fish might die :/

Thanks guys,

the lone tetra seems fine and not sick, seems like he is guarding an area of tank and mves the others away when they come near, it's just he dosen't seem to eat like the others, he has done this since I bought them and they all were bought at the same time from the same stock tank.