pH, Ammonia, Cloudy Water, Nitrate, Nitrite Problem...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dinokath

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all,

Been in the hobby for about 20 years or so and I am stumped. I am in no way saying I am an expert, please understand that, but I know about cycling a tank and the fundamentals. The particulars:

Freshwater - established since 2005
55 gallons
Magnum 350 canister filter with dual bio-wheels
All fake plants and rocks.
pH - Normally 6.8, now <6.0 (tap water pH is 7.0)
Ammonia - between 1.0 - 4.o ppm (I know...)
Nitrite - 1.0 - 3.0 (used to be 0 before all this)
Nitrate - 40 ppm (used to be 0 before all this)
GH - 75 (tap is 75)
KH - 80-120 (tap is 80)
Last filter media change - 3 weeks before this episode.
I use Marineland charcoal. Always have.
Fish in the tank:
3 bala sharks (2-3 inches each)
2 zebra danios (1.5" each)
2 kissing gouramis (3" and 4")
1 blue gourami (used to be two, but one disappeared.
No body, nothing. I suspect the cat, but no proof.)
1 pleco (7 inches or so)
Clearly the tank is no where near over stocked.

Here's the saga to date:

Noticed the pleco swimming upside down about a month ago. Didn't think much of it, they do that sometimes. Noticed a couple weeks ago that I never saw him down low. Checked closer and he seemed to be a bit distended at the gut. Did some reading and he has a blockage per most materials. Checked the water, all was good. No issues. Cut back on the food, tried to give him a pea, no go.

A week or so ago, all of the sudden, water went from crystal clear, as it always is, to cloudy. Not super cloudy but enough. Checked the water. Water was:

pH - 6.0 or less. The color was lighter than both tests I have for pH would allow.
Ammonia - 4.0ppm
Nitrate - 80ppm
Nitrite - 3.0 ppm