What is wrong with my Platties? Are they itchy?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bass173

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I noticed that my platties are rubbing themselves against the edge of the heater. They do it every once in a while when they get close to the heater. Why are they doing this? Should I be worried? I have attached a video to show what they are doing.

https://youtu.be/abSB7njRVTA

Some background: I just got three new platties yesterday form Petco (4 total in a ten gallon tank) and the one who has been in the tank the longest does not do this. The fish seem healthy overall and they are all eating. Water parameters look good according to my test strips and ammonia test. I'm very new to fish-keeping and I got my first fish about a week and a half ago.

Thats what is known as flashing and is a sign that something is off. Yes they are scratching an itch.

It could be caused by a parasite, poor water conditions, other infections.

Its likely you brought in already infected fish, and this infection could now spread to the other fish.

Can you give some more details on the tank and its inhabitants? Are you seeing any other symptoms?

What are your tank parameters (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, temp, pH)? Please give exact values.

How long has the tank been set up?

What type of filtration are you using? Please give the name and number (i.e. Fluval 304) and amount of*gph*if known.

When is the last time you did a water change and vacuum the gravel? How often do you do this? How much water do you remove at a time?

How did you acclimate the new fish?

Have you added anything new to the tank--decor, new dechlorinator, new substrate, etc.?

Thats what is known as flashing and is a sign that something is off. Yes they are scratching an itch.

It could be caused by a parasite, poor water conditions, other infections.