Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-13-2011, 06:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Can somebody help me sump build :S

Hi making DIY sump needs good instructions any help ? Cheers

__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Here's a quick, easy and most importantly cheap sump.


__________________
Dieselfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
thats the best sump i've ever seen, seriously its so easy to change the filtration and so simple
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Here is a diagram i made when i built my first sump I found it hard to find a detailed diagram to work from so during the process of researching many diy sumps and combining many different sketches along with many unsuccessful attempts, I drew this, and it works great.

Now that I have had this sump running for 6 months or so I have a few alterations myself. Mainly I would have (and soon will once I get the time for a quick rebuild) inserted an extra panel in the 'IN' section to allow the water to drop in through a sock, opposed to the water rising, also since building the sump I have added a water level sensor, oppose to the traditional float types I added a small diafram type that simply senses the pressure when the water level drops and shuts of the return pump, and then back on automatically once the water level is restored.

I also made a diy overflow box that also hid two powerheads, again it worked great.

Hope this is helpful!


Tom

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium
__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Sorry the diagrams pixelated, I will post a clearer one tomorrow.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium
__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieselfool
Here's a quick, easy and most importantly cheap sump.
Looks great. Do you have a build thread for this one?

Sent from my Epic 4G
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:31 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gti_Leo View Post
thats the best sump i've ever seen, seriously its so easy to change the filtration and so simple
Wow, for real, make me one. I made one out of a 55gal tank and cut fiberglass partitions and it was a serious pain. That is awesome, I want to steal your design.
__________________
smarsh7903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:48 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet View Post
Looks great. Do you have a build thread for this one?

Sent from my Epic 4G
Thanks.

Sorry, no build thread for this. Didn't really even document it in anyway except the few pics I took. Pretty simple and straight forward. Get a fitting that fits the intake hose, cut a hole in the top to fit and drill a gazillion small holes in each drawer. Mechanical filtration in the top drawer, and fill the rest with scrubbies. No need to drill all those holes in the bottom drawer though. I just drilled 3 x 1" holes in the front of the drawer for the water come through to the pump. Oh, and that "custom" water de-fuser on top of the filter pad, it one of those plastic tubs that butter or sour cream comes in. I just cut it down and drilled a bunch of holes in it so the water and all the dirt wasn't landing in the same spot. I have Mag18 pumping it back, and there is just enough room in the sump beside it to get a 300W heater in there.
__________________
Dieselfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:37 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Diesel, where do you put your skimmer?
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:40 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by uscamaro View Post
Diesel, where do you put your skimmer?
Well....there is no skimmer in this sump as it was built for a F/W tank. But you could simply install one if you wanted to. If the sump isn't long enough, you can always buy one larger. I think i bought this tub at Canadian Tire here in Canada, for about $20, but I've seen lots of different size ones for sale at Wallyworld and the Home depot. I bought the drawer set at Home Depot . It was $20 too, but I got it for $10 as three of the drawers were cracked along the corners. Since the drawers aren't holding any weight from the water, just the scrubbies, and it's sitting in the sump, it didn't need to be water tight. It is very simple to clean as the drawers just slide out, however the frame comes apart at the bottom of each one of the drawers. There is little plastic nubs that need to be pushed in and it lifts right off. As my hard plumbing is in the way of the drawers, I just cut the little nubs off to make it easier to lift each drawer straight up and off for cleaning. This thing is working amazingly.

This is the sump that got replaced.

I did some quick calculations in my head and I think I expanded my bio-media capacity by about 400%.
I hope this helps.
Al.
__________________
Dieselfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:49 PM   #11
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 39,145
Moved to the DIY forum.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:52 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
My only problem with diesel's is all the pot scrubbers etc. becoming nitrate factories, but then I saw it was for FW and it does make a lot of sense and very cheap as well.

I believe Ziggy here has something very similar in his FW planted
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Would this be a good one for an aquarium 100cm long ? 2ft Hightower 16" deep this is 18.5 long sump would this be a good idea ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3029759510.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	31081  
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 05:58 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
???
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:08 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by westy101
Hi making DIY sump needs good instructions any help ? Cheers
Perhaps it would help us help you if you posted info on your tank, fish stock, etc. Are you sure you even need a sump?

Sent from my Epic 4G
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:24 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Well not really but every body I spoke to on this forum have all said you need a sump so :/
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:50 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
For a SW tank? If you have a larger tank then I'd suggest one, but if it's FW or a smaller SW tank then it's not necessary
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:51 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
It a 60gal SW ?
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 09:24 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
Then yes I'd suggest you get a sump, it'd be very beneficial. Possibly going prebuilt if your budget allows, and if not then buy the biggest tank your stand can hold in the bottom
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with sump build xsmoker_3 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 27 07-02-2010 12:50 PM
New tank and sump build ducati2242 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 05-28-2010 07:24 PM
Help me build my sump h8z2luze General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 09-08-2009 01:17 PM
Wanna build a sump, Help? SWerner13 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-31-2009 02:42 PM
Help with my 10g sump build vietcu DIY Projects 9 02-24-2008 09:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.