canopy sanding

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sompa

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have cut my wood and was wondering if I need to sand before or after adding the water sealer? Also what kind of sealer should I use and what kind of paint should I use on the inside of the canopy? This is my first time doing a diy for my aquarium and don't want to mess it up toooooo bad.

Thanks for any and all the help you guys give to the newbies like me.

I'm moving this to the DIY section since it'll get more responses there.

A light sanding isn't a bad idea, just be sure to get the sawdust off afterwards so it doesn't get into the paint/varnish and cause problems (rough textures).

I don't think you need a sealer..at least not a thompson's water sealer type sealer.
First, I suggest you prime the inside before painting. I use water-based Kilz primer. I followed that with a coat of oil-based enamel, gloss white paint (it has decent reflectivity to help maximize any stray light).
On the outside, you could paint (again prime and use oil-based) or stain it and do a few top coats of polyurethane or varnish (i'm a big proponent of poly-urethane).

always do a light sanding before applying sealers, stain, paint ect. after the sanding, use a tact cloth, or an air gun (attached to an air compressor) to remove any left over saw dust.

minwax makes a great polyurthane/stain mix, i used that on my stand, and not only was it cheaper (than buying stain and poly seperate), but it looks very nice, and it comes in a fairly wide range of colors to suit almost any decor.

For best looking paint or stain job, sanding is a must.

I always sand all my wood parts before assembly (much easier) to 100 grit or so -skip this for plywood - the tops should be pre-sanded already.