Stand and canopy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Omega

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi there guys,

Just want to show my stand and canopy that I am busy building any comments or suggestions are welcome.

The stand is build with 15mm square tubing covered with chipboard with caster wheels with a brake for easy moving.

Planning to cover all the wood with veneer and stain it to a Dark cherry colour. At the end of the canopy there will be two chrome pipes coming down for that new age look lol.

The stand is for a 3ft tank and the dimensions of the stand is 130cm W X 120 cm H X 42cm D.

I know the canopy is skew in the pic but I still need to build the bracket for the hood because it is going to be height adjustable for the heat of the lights so please go easy on me I am still a DIY newbie lol.

After the stand is complete I am going to build an overflow box for the sump.

So please tell me what you guys think :)

Attachments

• stand_891.jpg
    stand_891.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 379
Looks cool! I built a stand a while back and am about to start working on a canopy. How did you address opening the canopy to feed your fish? Or did you?

I'm running a 125 gallon, so the canopy will be about 12" high to allow for lights and such, and it'll be 6' long. I'm thinking of curtaining the back to keep light in, but make it so I can reach around behind easily to feed the fish without moving the canopy or having a trap door to open. Any ideas are welcome.

Nice job!

Well I am going to make a stainless steel feeding hole to fit in with the chrome pipes.

The curtain sounds like a good idea but IMO I think the curtain will get wet and start dripping because of evap.

Good point. For all this talk about aquariums I didn't think of the water factor. Duh.

Thanks for that. I'll figure something else out for blocking light.

Any ideas?