Sump for 180 gall

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stillkickin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm thinking about doing a DIY sump. I don't know anything about this, though as I've just had canister filters in the past. The tank I'm getting is already drilled.

What size tank to use for a 180 gallon, and why?

Where would I find the pump for it?

How do I set up the filtration properly?

I'm sure I'll have more questions later... I'm lacking any experience whatsoever on sumps. So, sorry if these are super noobish questions.

I like sumps, though I’m no expert. I have a 40g breeder with a 20 long as a sump. Here’s a website that can help calculate sizing: https://reefs.com/calculators/sump-tank-volume-calculator/

As for a pump, in freshwater the rule of thumb is you want to have a water turnover rate of roughly 8-10 times per hour, so you’d want to size your pump for that. You can get a decent Chinese knockoff DC variable flow pump that will let you control the flow more precisely for not much more than a regular pump. Be sure to actually size it taking in to account height head losses, and fittings head losses too if you want to be crazy. I can’t really remember by fluids formulas from college to help you more specifically but hopefully that’ll give you a place to start looking :)

As for filtration (I assume you’re talking filter media and the like?) it kind of depends on what you’re planning on stocking. It’s good to have some level of floss or a filter sock or something first to get the big chunks. For basic bio media, lots of diy sumps have those cheap plastic pot scrubbies. I have a bunch of landscaping volcano rock in mine, with some “real” Seachem matrix and purigen. Generally there will be different chambers in a sump for you to put different stuff in.