30 gallon and a bunch of plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xander

Aquarium Advice Freak
I finally moved my reason for not having plants into a 125. So I just put 6 small amazon swords (~9") and 3 bunches of green hygro (~8") and a couple clumps of java moss in a standard 30 gallon tank. I have a 20 watt 24" Zoo Med Ultra Sun florescent bulb. I am wondering how many hours of light i should allow per day. Is placement an issue? I have the swords bases a few inches from each other. They look fine and don't seem crowded but I am new to this. I don't need them to grow fast I just want them to survive. If I need to adjust anything please let my know.

xander...

Your light level definitely puts your tank into the low-light category (24watts on a 30 gal tank is less than 1wpg). The Java Moss should do OK and the Hygrophila MIGHT make it, but I doubt that you're going to have much luck with the Sword Plants (Echinodoras. They like a bit more light than you can provide with your setup.

If it isn't too late....you might want to return the Swords to your lfs and see if you can exchange them for something like Java Fern or a Cryptocoryne that might do well in your tank.

I would rather keep them. What sort of light would I need for that. I have other light fixures but have no idea what wattage they are. One I am thinking of is a 36" fixure that holds a 36" bulb, I think it has a 30 watt bulb in it. Can I simply supplement my existing light? Can I just modify my light to up the wattage? What if I put another strip light on the tank? I got a good deal on these swords and would love to utilize them. What are my options besides returning them. Also how many hours shall I set the timer for?