Amazon sword new growth

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Midnighttang

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a tank that I planted a month or so ago. I planted a few plants, including amazon sword, the kind you get in the tube at Petsmart. 3 out of 4 of the plants are thriving and one was destroyed by an active fish. Today, I noticed 2 green string things about 2-3 inches from the swords. Is this new growth? Will these turn into little plants? If so, can I move them after they grow? Thanks for any help. I'm new to the world of planted tanks.

Here are a couple pics. Hopefully, you can see it. It's no bigger than a thread. It's green and definitely plant material. I just don't know what it is exactly.

Attachments

• image-285492261.jpg
    image-285492261.jpg
    125.2 KB · Views: 88
  • image-4231010667.jpg
    image-4231010667.jpg
    146.6 KB · Views: 98
Midnighttang said:
Here are a couple pics. Hopefully, you can see it. It's no bigger than a thread. It's green and definitely plant material. I just don't know what it is exactly.

Looks like a root from the pick. Just keep your sword fed with root tabs and you'll see growth.

I thought that might be true, but I was unsure because it was poking up so far from the substrate. I put root tabs in a while ago, but subsequently vacuumed up the remains, because I ended up with an algae bloom and I thought I might be providing more nutrients than necessary. Am I being paranoid or could the root tabs have been the cause of the algae bloom?

I thought that might be true, but I was unsure because it was poking up so far from the substrate. I put root tabs in a while ago, but subsequently vacuumed up the remains, because I ended up with an algae bloom and I thought I might be providing more nutrients than necessary. Am I being paranoid or could the root tabs have been the cause of the algae bloom?