Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-24-2007, 05:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Co2 Level

How can I tell if I have the right amount of co2 ?

Is there any test kit I need to have ?

I have a co2 indicator . But Im not sure if thats good enough to get a good accurate reading .
__________________

__________________
20 gal tank , 5 porkchop rasboro , 2 guppies , 1 blueram , 1 black molly , 1 red/black variatus , 2 cory catfish , 1 bristlenose pleco , 3 java ferns , 1 anarachis , 1 red ludwiga
ikon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 05:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois - Champaign/Chicago
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to David14259
You can calculate CO2 in a tank by measuring the KH and pH of your tank.
__________________

__________________
David14259

My Tank: 20 Gallon Freshwater High Tech Planted
My Plants: Dwarf Sagittaria, Riccia, Crypt Lutea, Rotala Macandra, Corkscrew Val, Blyxa Japonica, Ambulia, Anubias Nana, Flame Moss, Christmas Moss, Echinodorus Parviflorus.
My Fish: 1 German Gold Ram, 3 Praecox Rainbows, 1 Otocinclus Catfish, 1 Siamese Algae Eater, 1 Rummynose Tetra, 4 Cherry Barbs
My Inverts: Ramshorn Snails, Apple Snails.
David14259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 870
Here is a good chart. Find your kH and pH to determine your CO2

http://www.rexgrigg.com/co2.pdf
dapellegrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 06:26 PM   #4
vic
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 42
CO2 calculator:

http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/art_plant_co2chart.htm

You can also use a drop checker. Simply Google drop checker.

http://www.customaquatic.com/customa...ID=RS&catID=co

Vic
__________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. - Albert Einstein
The avatar is Spook the 19# watch cat.
vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 07:59 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Are you using a Red Sea CO2 Indicator? If so, this is actually a drop checker. If filled with a KH reference solution it should give you very accurate CO2 levels.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CO2 Level and BBA JDogg Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 23 10-14-2006 01:33 PM
What is my REAL CO2 level? JDogg Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 10-05-2006 06:59 PM
Co2 level too high? Peyton Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-07-2006 05:29 AM
how to get an accurate CO2 level tazcrash69 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 15 10-06-2005 12:55 PM
CO2 Level talenzmeier Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 09-21-2003 01:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.