Moss Balls

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Menagerie

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am relatively new to planted tanks, but have low light plants and all is fine. I was browsing eBay and came across Moss Balls. Do any of you have them? I know how plants work in a tank and am not going on their description. Since these plants are different, I would like them. My ram (hopefully they breed) and my Badis tanks could use some new plants and I wanted to try Moss Balls. Good idea?

do you think rams would breed in on a ball? Mine always lay on flat rocks or dig little holes with their tails.... give the balls a try... couldn't hurt, right? I don't know much about what the need, other than an occasional turn, so the bottom doesnt rot out, and that the grow v e r r r y y s l l o o o o w w w l l l y y

Cladophora...i have a few....get them if you can for <$8 each, as when they are available here in town, they go from $9-$15 each. These kick serious tushie....and do a fab job of keeping your water clean and sucking up nutrients that bothersome algae would thrive on.

hehe, i should have typed a smilie face to show I was joking... i don't really think they'd lay eggs on them either. Sorry! I totally sound like I'm joking when I read it in my head.

I have to wonder how dense they are. Java moss may make a better 'nest' to swim in, but I still think you should get some. Too fun!

my marimo ball simply slowly disintegrated over several months. Other plants thrived though, so I doubt it was my water quality...and more that the ball was crappy, or not a true marimo.

I loose pieces of it from time to time and it doesn't grow much, but it does suck up some nutrients, but so do the rest of my plants. I think it's boring, but that's me.