Plants transparent with dark veins?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

missbarbie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok newbie here. I am just messing around with my first attempt to keep live plants. Getting a feel of it to see if I want to dive in deeper with this project. Fast forward, I have a very low (no) tech setup with stock LED light bar that came with the tank (don't judge), seachem Eco Boost with gravel sub, API CO2 boost 1x/day, Flourish 2x/week, minimally stocked. I'm getting some growth after 2 weeks so that's encouraging, but I'm wondering what's the main cause of leaves becoming transparent with darkened veins. Just wondering what aspect I should attack first to cheer up these plants...light or ferts?

Attachments

• 20170926_072305.jpg
    20170926_072305.jpg
    150.1 KB · Views: 165
  • 20170926_072255.jpg
    20170926_072255.jpg
    170.7 KB · Views: 116
This doesn’t look like a deficiency. Seems to be a trait of the Amazon sword when sprouting new leaves. The transparency is due to the reduced thickness of the leaf. The plants makes different leaves when placed underwater to cope with a reduction in gas exchange.

I had swords that looked like that

IMG_1820.jpg

before they ended up like this.

IMG_2043.jpg

Keep doing what you are doing. Swords love ‘liquid co2’

This doesn’t look like a deficiency. Seems to be a trait of the Amazon sword when sprouting new leaves. The transparency is due to the reduced thickness of the leaf. The plants makes different leaves when placed underwater to cope with a reduction in gas exchange.

I had swords that looked like that

View attachment 304144

before they ended up like this.

View attachment 304143

Keep doing what you are doing. Swords love ‘liquid co2’

Your plants are gorgeous! I just worry that they are getting thinner almost melting in spots.