Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-04-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Patrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: quebec, mirabel
Posts: 505
Removing potassium

If K is in high doses, it can result in the NO3 reaching zero.

I have issue with nitrate, even if i add 12 gram of nitrate in 33 gallons aquarium i will have no more then 10ppm, so that mean k is to high right? Also, because of this i can't add phosphate without getting algae bloom. how to lower potassium?
  • i use dry powder from aquariumfertilizer and filtered water.
  • epson salt(magnesium)
  • potassium nitrate
  • csm+b
  • calcium from Cuttle bone (small piece)
__________________

__________________
Patrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrice View Post
If K is in high doses, it can result in the NO3 reaching zero.

I have issue with nitrate, even if i add 12 gram of nitrate in 33 gallons aquarium i will have no more then 10ppm, so that mean k is to high right? Also, because of this i can't add phosphate without getting algae bloom. how to lower potassium?

[*]i use dry powder from aquariumfertilizer and filtered water.[*]epson salt(magnesium)[*]potassium nitrate[*]csm+b[*]calcium from Cuttle bone (small piece)
The only way it will disappear is if the plants are utilizing the nitrate. I overdose potassium in order to promote the highest uptake of nitrogen and phosphate. 10 ppm of nitrate is perfectly fine and won't adversely affect your plants if that's your concern. Unless your well planted I can't see your nitrate disappearing that fast. Do you have fish in the tank?
__________________

__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Patrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: quebec, mirabel
Posts: 505
I do no have fish.

And i still think, 9 to 12 grams of kno3 is way to much for a small result(also expensive). Especially if my plants need phosphate and i can't add any without algae bloom. Usually, i think, around 3 grams should've been fine for 10 ppm.

p.s. I have heard of using alchemy and removing k from no3 or k from magnesium. if thats possible!
__________________
Patrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
12g into 33 gallons is about 100 ppm. I think either your test kit is bad or your nitrate salt got switched with another salt.
__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Patrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: quebec, mirabel
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqua_chem View Post
12g into 33 gallons is about 100 ppm. I think either your test kit is bad or your nitrate salt got switched with another salt.
test kit fine
nitrate salt may be diluted,but i don't think so, and its a reputable place. I guest i will need to test it again.
__________________
Patrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
Those are literally the only two options for what you're describing. Nothing we use in aquariums have been shown to obfuscate nitrate test results like you're describing, and unless you're conducting cold fusion in your aquarium, the two are unrelated.

You could consider calibrating your test kit.
__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Patrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: quebec, mirabel
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqua_chem View Post
Those are literally the only two options for what you're describing. Nothing we use in aquariums have been shown to obfuscate nitrate test results like you're describing, and unless you're conducting cold fusion in your aquarium, the two are unrelated.

You could consider calibrating your test kit.
You are right, my potassium nitrate is diluted. When i calculate, in this web site (theaquatools.com/fertilization-calculator) i surpose to have 20 ppm in 10 litres if i add .32 gram. I have 10ppm. I am wondering what they have replace it with. I was naive to believe that its was something else the problem.

I already send a email. and hope they will be of help.
__________________
Patrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 02:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqua_chem View Post
Those are literally the only two options for what you're describing. Nothing we use in aquariums have been shown to obfuscate nitrate test results like you're describing, and unless you're conducting cold fusion in your aquarium, the two are unrelated.

You could consider calibrating your test kit.
10 points for using obfuscate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrice View Post
You are right, my potassium nitrate is diluted. When i calculate, in this web site (theaquatools.com/fertilization-calculator) i surpose to have 20 ppm in 10 litres if i add .32 gram. I have 10ppm. I am wondering what they have replace it with. I was naive to believe that its was something else the problem.

I already send a email. and hope they will be of help.
Where did you get the nitrate at? Also, what test kit are you using? What is your exact method of testing with the nitrate kit?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrice View Post
You are right, my potassium nitrate is diluted. When i calculate, in this web site (theaquatools.com/fertilization-calculator) i surpose to have 20 ppm in 10 litres if i add .32 gram. I have 10ppm. I am wondering what they have replace it with. I was naive to believe that its was something else the problem.

I already send a email. and hope they will be of help.
Did you also test the 10L before you added anything to make sure you had 0 ppm? Solid salts usually don't dilute like that, although you do get some hygroscopic absorption with some chemicals. The change wouldn't be as profound as you describe.

Quote:
10 points for using obfuscate
I try .
__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
How much water are you mixing with the 12 grams?
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.