Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2023, 08:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2023
Posts: 3
substrate mix

hey gang.
recently decided to go for my first planted tank... I originally had seachem fluorite with a layer of pool filter sand on top... now one thing lead to another and its all mixed up now. super, have more kids they said.



so... from what I have searched out on the internet, its not really that big of a problem? can anyone confirm this?



I dont mind having to remove it all and restart, but I also thought maybe if I also mixed in some fluval bio stratum it would probably work just fine?


any advice would be appreciated, I have no problem restarting that tank from the ground up. it is currently only the substrate, some lava rocks, and a piece of drift wood. its got a filter and heater going, but no plants, no fish.



thanks!

__________________
lumpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2023, 04:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 5,842
Shouldn't be a problem as long as you dont dislike the appearance.

Why do you want to mix in bio stratum?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2023, 09:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2023
Posts: 3
the appearance is secondary to me at this stage, im just trying to grow some plants!



i figured since the mix right now is 50/50 sand and flourite, maybe a bit more sand if anything. i figured i could dump something else with a bit more nutrients to make up for the mix. my first batch of plants will be root feeders opposed to column.



thank you!
__________________
lumpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2023, 11:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 5,842
Most aquatic plants do just fine in ordinary gravel or sand. Unless you are doing a high tech set up with high demand plants, that require lots of nutrients, high powered lighting and injected CO2, a planted substrate isnt needed.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2023, 10:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2023
Posts: 3
okay cool. yeah, low tech for now. only low light root feeders.
thanks a lot, i posted this elsewhere too and i am much more confident now.
__________________
lumpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
regular salt mix vs. reef salt mix sansouci01 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2013 07:29 AM
Salt Mix- reef or non reef mix? carey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-16-2011 10:31 PM
To mix or not to mix? Aquasoil and SMS evercl92 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 10-22-2007 11:54 PM
To mix or not to mix, that is the question JDogg Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 05-30-2007 03:57 AM
what substrate mix? turboTSI Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 06-01-2004 07:43 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.