Totally New Seeking Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aqua71

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I'm totally new to the hobby. I've been spending quite bit of time reading all I can get my hands on that time allows while I'm cycling my tank. My tank is a 55 gallon, 48" X 12". I'd like to keep some Rasbora, Neon Rainbows & Zebra Loach. If these fish are compatible, I hope. (I thought I'd about Clown Loach but changed when my mind when I discovered how big they can become.) My first questions are what plants would you recommend for the tank and how many of them should I get?

I'm also wondering about the type of lighting system I should get. I have a Perfecto 40 watt fluorescent light with a Perfecto canopy (I just learned yesterday that some places call the lid for the tank a canopy.)

I do have a filter hanging on the outside of the tank and was also wondering if a glass canopy could work with my fliter? Is there a hole in the canopy for the filter? The Perfecto canopy was made of a light metal that could easily be cut out for the filter and other cords.

This past week I put in a new substrate and it's currently got about a 3" layer of Ecocomplete. Please feel free to make any other suggestions that come to mind. I really want to learn and take care of my fish properly. Thanks for reading this and have a great day! :D

With your current lighting you'd have to stick to very low light plants. This includes Anubias, Java Ferns, Java Moss, and Crypts.